A Birthday Miracle

This last weekend was my husband’s birthday.  His mom asked him what kind of cake he wanted.  He said not to bother.

My husband doesn’t dislike birthdays.  He certainly doesn’t dislike cake.  I asked him why.

“Only Mom and I would be able to eat it anyway.”

Edmund has a lot of food allergies: gluten, soy, peanut, tree nut, and dairy.  Since I am still nursing, I have to eat a diet free of his allergens, or else they will get into my milk and cause him to have a reaction.

Nate’s dad has been a type 2 diabetic for years.

I could tell that Nate was bummed about the whole thing.  So I set out to find a recipe that we could all enjoy! 

Good news.  I found a carrot cake recipe that I could adjust.  Nate adores carrot cake.

I made this recipe with gluten-free all purpose flour from Bob’s Red Mill instead of spelt flour (wheat).  I also used Splenda granulated sugar substitute mixed with molasses for a mostly sugar free brown sugar replacement after 4 stores near me didn’t have the Splenda brown sugar blend.  Don’t get me started.  If you have an egg sensitivity, you could go one step further with this if needed by mixing 1 tbsp of flax meal and 3 tbsp of hot water.  Let stand to get the goopy egg consistency.

The cupcakes turned out great.  Almost too airy, which is impressive with a gluten-free baked good.  I would consider subbing some of the flour with quinoa flour, since that could add back in the nutty flavor to the cupcakes without adding nuts or gluten to the mix.  The frosting, though, was…not great.  I think that was mostly the Splenda (which we food-processed to make confectioners sugar substitute). I’ve made similar recipes with regular sugar and it’s been delicious.

Nate & family were excited that we could all share one dessert for a special occasion.  Wife win!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,491 other followers

